Because religion is laughable

American Atheist President?

Lindsay Miller Picture

In seven U.S. states, according to their constitutions, atheists are barred from holding public office, and in some case from testifying as witnesses in court. These are: Arkansas, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas.

In Arkansas, for example, Article 19, Section 1 of the constitution states:
"No person who denies the being of a God shall hold any office in the civil departments of this State, nor be competent to testify as a witness in any Court.

Similarly, in Mississippi, Article 14, Section 265 of the constitution states:
"No person who denies the existence of a Supreme Being shall hold any office in this state."

It is not stated specifically which God or Supreme being is to be denied, an ambiguity which could suffice as a loophole, if the recent case of Lindsay Miller is anything to go by.  Ms Miller was finally granted the right by the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles to wear a spaghetti strainer in her driver's license photo, in allegiance to the Church of the Flying Spaghetti Monster, of which she is a member.